Civic Honours

Civic Awards

Each year the Council presents Civic Awards to residents who have given outstanding service to the community. The Council also presents the Dame Marion Roe Young Citizens Award to an outstanding young person in the Borough. The Young Citizens Award was set up by Dame Marion to mark her retirement as a long serving Member of Parliament for the Broxbourne constituency.

Previous winners can be viewed in the related links section of this page.

The Council welcomes nominations throughout the year for Civic Awards. To nominate somebody who has given outstanding service to the community, please write to the Chief Executive at the Borough Offices, Bishops' College, Churchgate, Cheshunt, Herts, EN8 9XQ or email


Honorary Freeman and Freedom of the Borough

The Freedom of the Borough is an old established civic honour awarded to Honorary Freemen - the highest recognition the Council can make on behalf of the community to other citizens for their outstanding contribution to that community. 

Over the years, the following have been given the award:

Douglas Ernest Breeze (10 May 1977)
Councillor and Leader of the Council

Marco Carruba (31 May 2000)
Mayor of Sutera - the Borough Council’s twin town

Dame Marion Roe DBE (26 April 2005)
Member of Parliament for Broxbourne (June 1983 - May 2005)

Laura Trott (18 October 2012)
Cheshunt resident and double Olympic gold medal winner at the 2012 Games. Laura was also presented with a book of congratulations compiled with messages from Borough residents.

Royal Anglian Regiment (25 April 2017)
The County Regiment with historical Borough connections.


Aldermen of the Borough

To recognise their service to the community, the Council may grant honorary alderman status to past Leaders of the Council, members who have achieved 20 years or more continuous service or to recognise exceptional service irrespective of the service period.

The following former members of the Council are conferred with the title of Honorary Alderman:

  • Mrs Joyce Ball
  • Mrs Elizabeth Clayton
  • Mark Farrington
  • Michael Janes
  • Donald Poole
  • Donald Smith
  • Norman Ames
  • Brian Hill
  • Paul Mason
  • Charles Tranham