Youth Awards 2019 shortlists announced

Shortlists for the Broxbourne Youth Awards 2019 have been announced with an incredible number of talented young people, youth projects and youth workers nominated.
Broxbourne Borough Council received 274 online nominations between late November and the end of January, from a diverse range of programmes and projects taking place throughout the Borough. 
Shortlisted nominees are invited to the awards ceremony at the Spotlight in Hoddesdon on Friday 29 March. A shortlisting panel consisting of Councillors Dee Hart and Giles Hart, Council Officers, the Broxbourne Youth Mayor Chris Bakalis and the two Deputy Youth Mayors, Alicia Hall and Noah Tucker, had the task of identifying the brightest of these very bright stars.
The groups and projects shortlisted include Focus Youth FC, Ntertainers, CHIPS, the Boundary Park Next Generation Youth Club, the Haileybury Turnford Thank You Festival, the Broxbourne Youth Intervention Programme, Sensorize, Mayhem Theatre Arts, Valle Academy and the John Warner School Nature Garden Club.
Individual young people who were nominated for awards include 12 year old Nazir Charalambous who won two gold medals competing in Holland in Brazilian jujitsu, Francesca Sorce who has been involved with many performances at Haileybury Turnford School, Joe O’Grady who raised over £19,000 for the Teens Unite charity, Kiran Rajani who volunteers with the Wormley and Turnford Big Local and Gracie Quartley who runs lunchtime drama clubs at the John Warner School and produced a sell-out Christmas pantomime. 
Other young people recognised include Kaitlyn Perkins who won the Herts and Beds St John Ambulance Cadet of the Year, Dani-Leigh Howell who received eight nominations for her work after-school with the Valle Academy and Glenn Miller who has played a vital role developing the Focus Youth FC team for young people with additional needs.
Young people have been recognised for their contribution to culture, the environment and volunteering as well as young carers and apprentices.
The annual Dame Marion Roe Young Citizen of the Year, named in honour of Broxbourne’s previous Member of Parliament, will be presented on the night as will the Todd Waldock Young Entrepreneur Award. Todd was a Broxbourne Primary School pupil who tragically died whilst competing in the Dragon’s Apprentice initiative and the award is presented by his family in his honour. 
In a change of format from previous years, the Inspirational Teacher award was extended to any staff working in the Borough’s secondary schools and the Head Teachers participated by filtering the nominations to two per school from which the Judging Panel selected an overall winner. 
The Broxbourne Youth Awards 2019 are sponsored by Aldwyck Housing Group, CEG, Cheshunt FC, Inland Homes, Tesco and a locality budget grant from County Councillor Dave Hewitt.