New Youth Mayor and Deputy Youth Mayor elected

Elections were held on Wednesday 5 October for Broxbourne’s Youth Mayor and Youth Council Cabinet for the 2022-23 academic year.

Members of the Broxbourne Youth Council voted for the Youth Mayor, Deputy Youth Mayor and two Cabinet positions.

Ethan Yardley, a Year 13 student at Goffs Academy in Cheshunt, was unanimously elected for his second term as Youth Mayor. Ethan’s priorities this year as Youth Mayor are to work with other Youth Councils in Hertfordshire to deliver for young people on mental health and the environment.

Ethan said, “It is an honour to be re-elected as Youth Mayor and I look forward to delivering more great things for young people in Broxbourne.”

Adesola Jinadu-Adewale, a Year 12 student at Presdales School but resident in the Borough, was elected as Deputy Youth Mayor for the 2022/2023 academic year.

Adesola said, “I am so grateful to have been elected for another term. I am looking forward to implementing more ideas into Broxbourne, in order to improve the community even more.”

Elections for the Cabinet positions within the Youth Council were also held.  Tate Lambie was elected as the Communications Officer and Liam Pleasure was elected to be the Youth Council’s Environmental Officer.

The Youth Mayor is a young person aged 11-17 years who is elected by young people to represent young people, with the main goal of contributing to discussions that impact this target group and raise issues where appropriate. The Youth Mayor will also chair the Broxbourne Youth Council which is open to all young people aged 11-17 years who live or study in the Borough of Broxbourne. The Youth Mayor and the Youth Council are politically neutral.

Published: 18th October 2022