New Youth Mayor and Deputy Youth Mayor elected

Elections were held on Wednesday 4 October for the role of Broxbourne’s Youth Mayor for the 2023/24 academic year. Members of the Broxbourne Youth Council voted for the Youth Mayor, Deputy Youth Mayor

Adesola Jinadu-Adewale, a Year 13 student at Presdales School but resident in the Borough, was elected as Youth Mayor. Adesola had been Deputy Youth Mayor for the previous two years. Her priorities as Youth Mayor are to grow the membership, to ensure that it is representative of Broxbourne’s young people and to provide more opportunities for young people.

Adesola is the Borough’s sixth Youth Mayor and her predecessor Ethan Yardley joined the Youth Council meeting virtually from the University of Exeter where he has just started studying History and Politics.

A closely fought election for the role of Deputy Youth Mayor saw Havana Marshall narrowly defeat Tobi Hogbin. Havana is a Year 11 student at Haileybury Turnford and very active in scouting.

Eni Adeoye-Fadipe, a Year 12 student at Dame Alice Owen’s School but resident in the Borough, was elected as the Youth Council’s Recruitment Officer. She had also stood for Youth Mayor. Further elections will be held for Environmental Officer and a second Recruitment Officer.

The Youth Mayor is a young person aged 11-18 years who is elected by young people to represent young people. The Youth Mayor will contribute to discussions impacting on young people, raising issues where appropriate. The Youth Mayor will also chair the Broxbourne Youth Council which is open to all young people aged 11-18 years who live or study in the Borough of Broxbourne. The Youth Mayor and the Youth Council are politically neutral.


Published: 5th October 2023