Annual Mayoral Debate for Secondary Schools

The annual Mayoral Debate for Secondary Schools was held on Wednesday 29 November.

Teams from six of the Borough’s secondary schools participated and presented on the topic of ‘The Borough of Broxbourne is 50 years old in 2024. What should Broxbourne be like in 50 years’ time and what needs to be done to secure that future’.
Each team spoke for 10 minutes in the Council Chamber at Bishops’ College, using PowerPoint to illustrate their arguments and, afterwards, were posed a question about their presentation from another competing school. 

Their views and suggestions were evaluated by a judging panel comprised of the Mayor of Broxbourne, Cllr Paul Seeby, Deputy Youth Mayor, Havana Marshall, and the Council’s Community Development Manager Steve Whitlam. 

After much thought provoking debate, the winning team was announced as the Robert Barclay Academy, whose members were Hannah Chiwereza, Lenya Pouros, Malik Aversano–Tadjine and Jake Hall. 

In second place was Goffs Churchgate Academy, and in third place was St Mary’s C.of.E High School. The other schools participating were The Broxbourne School, Goffs Academy and Haileybury Turnford.

Councillor Paul Seeby, Mayor of Broxbourne said: “All the young people spoke clearly and confidently, and their visions of the future were inspiring. Their commitment to the environment, to the vulnerable members of the community and to vibrant places makes me hopeful that they will lead us well. All participants should be very proud of their presentations as should their teachers and their families.” 

Every participant was awarded a certificate and the winning team received a trophy which was donated by the Mayor.

Published: 6th December 2023