Borough welcomes new Mayor of Broxbourne at Annual Council Meeting

Councillor David Taylor elected as Mayor of the Borough of Broxbourne
Councillor David Taylor elected as new Mayor of Broxbourne

At the Annual Council Meeting held on Tuesday 19 May 2020 via video conference, Councillor David Taylor was elected as Mayor of the Borough of Broxbourne for the municipal year 2020/21.

Councillor Paul Seeby was elected as this year’s Deputy Mayor.

The Mayor was unable to officially confirm his chosen charities immediately after his appointment but aims to announce them in due course.

Words of gratitude were shared for the outgoing Mayor, Councillor Steve Wortley, for his hard work and dedication during his time as Deputy Mayor (2017/18 and 2018/19) and Mayor (2019/20). Councillor Wortley announced that in the previous municipal year, he had raised a staggering £15,000 for his chosen Charities, Teens Unite and Herts and Essex (Ware) Samaritans.

The Leader of the Council, Councillor Lewis Cocking, provided an update on how the Council has supported residents and businesses during the COVID-19 crisis. This includes the distribution of two communication leaflets which were hand-delivered by Council staff to all households in the Borough, and approximately £14.5 million in payments made to the Borough's small businesses. Additional support provided through the Council’s dedicated COVID-19 webpage was also recognised. The Leader praised the seamless continuation of core services, and also shared that staff have been making preparations to reopen sites once it is safe to do so.

During his speech the Leader stated:

“I am extremely proud of the way we have been able to react and adapt to the new ways of working as a result of COVID-19. The Council not only continues to operate for the benefit of our businesses, residents and customers, but has been doing so seamlessly.

“I would also like to take this opportunity to thank the community groups and individual residents who have stepped up in this time of need. This Borough owes you a huge debt of gratitude”.

The Leader concluded his update by inviting all Members to join him for a one minute’s silence in remembrance of all those whose lives have been lost during the crisis.

This year’s Cabinet Members have remained the same with two new Deputy appointments. Councillor Steve Wortley has been appointed as Deputy Cabinet Member for Planning and Regeneration, and Councillor Martin Greensmyth was selected as Deputy Cabinet Member for the Environment.

More information about Cabinet roles and responsibilities, this year’s Committee Memberships, appointments to outside bodies and the calendar of meetings for 2020/21 can be found online at

A recording of the Full Council meeting can be viewed at

Published: May 22nd 2020