Civic Honours

Honorary Alderman

To recognise their service to the community, the Council may grant Honorary Alderman status to past leaders of the Council, councillors who have achieved 30 years or more of continuous service, or to recognise exceptional service irrespective of the service period.

The following former members of the Council are conferred with the title of Honorary Alderman:

Past Leaders of the Council

  • Elizabeth Clayton
  • Michael Janes
  • Donald Smith
  • Paul Mason

Continuous or Exceptional Service

  • Joyce Ball
  • Mark Farrington
  • Donald Poole
  • Norman Ames
  • Brian Hill
  • Charles Tranham
  • Lyn White
  • Jeremy Pearce
  • Peter Moule